Tuesday, November 18, 2008

MH DD SA Legislative Oversight Committee: Agenda

Joint Legislative Oversight Committee on
Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities, and Substance Abuse Services
November 20, 2008, 10:00 A.M.; Room 643, Legislative Office Building
Senator Martin Nesbitt, Co-Chair, Presiding

1. Greetings and Opening Comments 10:00 – 10:10
Senator Martin Nesbitt, Co-Chair
Representative Verla Insko, Co-Chair

2. Critical Measures LME Performance Matrix 10:10 – 10:30
Shealy Thompson, Ph.D., Quality Management Team Leader
Division of MH/DD/SAS, DHHS

3. Mental Health Leadership Academy Evaluation and Sample Results 10:30 – 11:15
Al Huntoon, Owner, Catalyst Consulting Services
James Johnson, Director, Urban Investment Strategies Center,
UNC Kenan Flagler School

Michael Watson, Area Director, Sandhills Center for MH/DD/SAS (LME)
Foster Norman, Area Director, Five County Mental Health Authority (LME)

4. Local Management Entities 11:15 – 12:15
a. Cumberland County Mental Health Center
Hank Debnam, Area Director

b. (Catawba-Burke) Mental Health Partners
John Hardy, Area Director

c. Onslow Carteret Behavioral Healthcare Services
Daniel M. Jones, Area Director

5. State Psychiatric Hospital Update 12:15 - 12:30
Dr. James Osberg, Chief, State Operated Services, DHHS

Lunch 12:30 – 1:30

6. Status of Items Funded in 2008 Appropriations Act 1:30 - 2:00
Leza Wainwright, Co-Director, Division of MH/DD/SAS, DHHS
Tara Larson, Acting Director, Division of Medical Assistance, DHHS
7. Supports Waiver and Comprehensive Waiver 2:00 - 2:30
Rose Burnette, Tiered Waiver Project Manager, Div. of MH/DD/SAS, DHHS

8. State Developmental Disability Centers Overview 2:30 – 3:00
Dr. James Osberg, Chief, State Operated Services, DHHS

9. Evidence Based Mental Health Treatment for Children 3:00 - 3:30
Dr. Dana Hagele, MD, MPH, Co-Director, NC Child Treatment Program


No comments: